Apple announced that it will shut down its My Photo Stream service on July 26, indicating that the upload of new photos to the application will stop just a month before, on June 26.
My Photo Stream is an application that allows users of Apple devices to access the most recent photos taken with their iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch or uploaded from a Mac or PC. To use it, iCloud must be set up on them.
This app uploads the latest photos (with the exception of Live Photos) so that users can view and import them on all the devices available to them. These photos, so far, are stored in My Photo Stream for 30 days.
The company announced that it will discontinue this service on July 26 and that all photos uploaded to the service before that date will remain in iCloud for 30 days from the upload date and will be available to any of the devices it is on. application enabled.
Therefore, the upload of new photos to the service will stop on June 26, 2023, and it will be on July 26, 2023, when all photos are deleted from iCloud, with the closure of this service.
Apple commented that if users want to keep any photos from My Photo Stream they must be saved locally on each device and has recommended the use of iCloud Photos to keep this content saved and updated.
(Reference image source: John Schnobrich, Unsplash)