Narendra Modi sworn in as Prime Minister for third term in India

During a ceremony at the presidential residence, Narendra Modi was sworn in as head of the new Government for a third term in which he must govern in a coalition, since his party did not obtain a majority in the close elections

This Sunday, the ceremony took place in India for the third term of nationalist leader Narendra Modi, at the presidential residence. He will govern for the first time in a coalition after his party did not obtain a majority in the elections.

Prime Minister Modi came to power in India in 2014 and was re-elected in 2019. During the two terms he had a government alone thanks to the majority that his party, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), achieved in the Lower House of Parliament or Lok Sabha.

Details are awaited about the ministers who will occupy each portfolio in the new cabinet, although well-known names such as the former Minister of the Interior, Amit Shah, the last Minister of Foreign Affairs, Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, or the former Minister of Finance, Nirmala Sitharaman, will be some of them, according to DW.


With information from international media and social networks

(Reference image source: @narendramodi, X)

Visit our news channel on Google News and follow us to get accurate, interesting information and stay up to date with everything. You can also see our daily content on Twitter and Instagram

You might also like